Draft Proposal for Wairarapa District Council: Call for public submissions

15 Mar 2017

The Local Government Commission is calling for submissions on a Draft Proposal to change the structure of councils in the Wairarapa.

A new council is proposed, called Wairarapa District Council. It would replace the existing three district councils: South Wairarapa District Council, Carterton District Council and Masterton District Council.

The new council would have a mayor, 12 councillors, and 21 community board members. The mayor would be elected by voters across the Wairarapa district and councillors would be elected by voters in each of seven wards, including two rural wards. There would be five community boards, one centred around each Wairarapa town: Featherston, Martinborough, Greytown, Carterton and Masterton. 

The Wairarapa would remain part of the Wellington region and the roles and responsibilities of the Greater Wellington Regional Council would be unchanged. However, for at least its first term, the Wairarapa District Council would have representation on a new Wairarapa Committee of the regional council.

Copies of the draft proposal are available at the three Wairarapa council offices and at libraries in the district. Submissions are now invited, with a deadline of 3 May 2017. An online submission form is available on the Commission’s website, a freepost pamphlet form is at council offices or libraries, or submissions can be made in writing in a format of the submitter’s choice. (Once received by the Commission, these are considered public documents and may be published or released, minus personal information such as addresses and contact numbers.)

The Commission will hold a series of public submission hearings in the Wairarapa in late May. After considering submissions, the Commission will consider whether to proceed to a final proposal. If there is a final proposal, electors can petition for a poll which would determine whether the proposal proceeded.

Send submissions to:

Post: Local Government Commission
PO Box 5362
Wellington 6140
Email: submissions@lgc.govt.nz

Return to the application page