Home » Other Commission work Previous proposals



Transfer of the Hauraki Gulf Islands from Auckland City to Thames-Coromandel District

A proposal to transfer the Hauraki Gulf Islands (excluding Rangitoto Island and Browns Island) from Auckland City and Auckland Region to Thames-Coromandel District and Waikato Region was initiated by over 700 electors living in the area. The affected councils (Auckland City Council, Auckland Regional Council, Thames-Coromandel District Council and Environment Waikato) decided in November 2008 to refer the proposal to the Local Government Commission.

Kaikoura District and Hurunui District

A proposal to abolish the Kaikoura District and include it in the Hurunui District was initiated by a petition of Kaikoura District electors in January 2008.