Home » Local government reorganisation Previous applications

2009: Transfer of the Hauraki Gulf Islands from Auckland City to Thames-Coromandel District

Overview & decisions


A proposal to transfer the Hauraki Gulf Islands (excluding Rangitoto Island and Browns Island) from Auckland City and Auckland Region to Thames-Coromandel District and Waikato Region was initiated by over 700 electors living in the area. The affected councils (Auckland City Council, Auckland Regional Council, Thames-Coromandel District Council and Environment Waikato) decided in November 2008 to refer the proposal to the Local Government Commission.

Hauraki Gulf Islands Determination (pdf, 1.1 MB)