Note – this version is presented as an accessible alternative. The pdf version (2.1mb) is the authoritative version.

Appendix 1: Timeline

Feb 2013: The ‘A Better Hawke’s Bay’ Trust makes application to the Local Government Commission for one unitary authority.

Feb-Oct 2013: Local Government Commission meets a wide range of interest groups, subject-matter experts and members of the public in the region.

Nov 2013: Local Government Commission releases draft proposal for reorganising local government in Hawke’s Bay. It proposed a single council for the region with one mayor, nine councillors, and five community boards consisting of six to nine members each.

Nov 2013-June 2014: Public feedback on draft proposal through the submissions and public hearings. Over 700 submissions were received and public meetings held in the region. Feedback was received on issues including the case for change, the number of councillors, the importance of the regional role, access to services, and the difference between community boards and local boards.

Nov 2014: Local Government Commission releases position paper with revisions following consultation and law changes allowing local boards. It proposed a single council for the region with one mayor, 18 councillors, and five local boards each consisting of two councillors and six to nine members elected from subdivisions

Mar 2015: Local Government Commission publishes a pamphlet summarising the proposed changes in the position paper and setting out what will happen to each council’s debt and assets during the transition to one council.

Colmar Brunton conducts survey of 2,000 residents across Hawke’s Bay and some face-to-face interviews.

June 2015: Local Government Commission releases its final decision

Appendix: Timeline

diagram explaining the timeline of the released proposal.

Appendix 2: Requirements for a petition

Affected electors may demand a poll to determine whether or not the final proposal is to proceed and become a reorganisation scheme, under clause 24(1) of Schedule 3 of the Local Government Act 2002.

To demand a poll, 10 percent of electors (residents and non-resident ratepayers) in the affected area of any one of the existing territorial authority districts must sign a petition. For any of Wairoa, Napier, Hastings, and Central Hawke’s Bay Districts, this means 10 percent of electors in the whole district must sign a petition. For either Rangitikei or Taupo, this means 10 percent of the electors in the areas which fall in the current Hawke’s Bay Region must sign a petition.

The petition must be received by the Local Government Commission no later than 60 working days after the issue of the public notice advising the final proposal.

Here is what the petition must contain.


To the Local Government Commission

Organiser of petition: [full name]

1:  This petition demands a poll to determine whether or not the final proposal issued on [petitioner to insert date] by the Local Government Commission as indicated below should proceed and become a reorganisation scheme.

The main features of the final proposal are:

    • establishment of a new Hawke’s Bay Council, which will be a unitary authority for the new Hawke’s Bay District
    • the Hawke’s Bay Council will be made up of a governing body, including a mayor and 18 councillors, and 5 local boards, including an additional 37 local board members
    • abolition of Napier City and the Central Hawke’s Bay, Hastings and Wairoa Districts and Hawke’s Bay Region, and dissolution of the existing city, district and regional councils
    • the portions of Taupo and Rangitikei Districts currently in Hawke’s Bay Region will move to other regions, but regional council responsibilities for these areas relating to river catchment management will be transferred to the Hawke’s Bay Council

2:  Following are the names, addresses, and signatures of affected electors who demand a poll.

Full name

Address (not a post office box)



3:  Contact details

Address for service of organiser of petition:




Contact person: [name and designation, if applicable]


Each person who signs this petition must state, against his or her signature, their name and the detailed address in relation to which he or she qualifies as an affected elector; that is their residential address, or the address for which they pay rates in the district.

If a poll is called, the area for voting in the poll will be all of the current Hawke’s Bay Region (including Wairoa, Napier, Hastings and Central Hawke’s Bay, and parts of Taupo and Rangitikei).

This information summarises relevant parts of the Local Government Act 2002, available online at