Home » Decisions and Determinations

Hawke's Bay reorganisation final proposal 9 June 2015

The Local Government Commission has issued a final proposal for reorganising Hawke’s Bay local government.

That proposal is to establish a single new council for Hawke’s Bay, called Hawke’s Bay Council, with five local boards sharing decision making and representing the interests of the region’s varied communities.  If implemented, it will replace the Napier City, Wairoa District, Hastings District and Central Hawke’s Bay District, and Hawke’s Bay Regional Councils.  This final proposal has been issued following an extensive process.