Home » Commission news & contact information Local government changes in Wellington public submissions

Local government changes in Wellington public submissions

Link to Application: 2017: Wellington Region reorganisation

4 December 2014

The Local Government Commission is calling for submissions on a draft proposal to change the structure of councils in the Wellington region. The deadline for submissions is 2 March 2015.
A new council is proposed, called Greater Wellington Council. It would replace the existing nine councils: Masterton District Council; Carterton District Council; South Wairarapa District Council; Upper Hutt City Council; Hutt City Council; Wellington City Council; Porirua City Council; Kapiti Coast District Council, and the Greater Wellington Regional Council.

The new council would be a unitary authority, which combines all of the functions of district councils, city councils, and a regional council. It would have a shared decision-making structure. Power would be shared between a mayor, 21 councillors, and 60 members of local boards.

The mayor and councillors would be responsible for high-level decisions affecting the whole region. The local boards would control council budgets and decisions for local communities.

The mayor would be elected by voters across the region. Councillors and local board members would be elected from eight areas: Wairarapa; Upper Hutt; Lower Hutt; Kapiti Coast; Porirua-Tawa; Ohariu; Lambton; and Rongotai.

The administrative headquarters of the new council would be in Wellington City. Council services would also be provided at area offices in Porirua, Paraparaumu, Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt and Masterton. Smaller service centres would be in Waikanae, Otaki, Martinborough, Greytown, Featherston and Carterton.

Wellington is currently governed by nine councils with eight mayors and one regional chair, 95 other councillors, 57 community board members, and nine chief executives. It has a population of fewer than 500,000 people.

Copies of the draft proposal, and a form for submissions, are available at www.lgc.govt.nz. Submissions are now invited with a deadline of 2 March 2015. Submissions should be made in writing and will be made publicly available. The Commission will hold public hearings.


Chief Executive Officer

Local Government Commission

PO Box 5362

Wellington 6145


Email: submissions@lgc.govt.nz