

Report of the proceedings and operations of the

Local Government Commission Mana Kāwanatanga ā Rohe

For the year ended 30 June 2013

Presented to the House of Representatives pursuant to clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Local Government Commission

Minister of Local Government

Parliament Buildings

Wellington

Minister

We forward, in terms of clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002, the report of the Local Government Commission to 30 June 2013.

Yours sincerely

The Local Government Commission

Basil Morrison CNZM Chair

Anne Carter Commissioner
Grant Kirby ONZM Commissioner

3 G.9

Local Government Commission

Contents

	Page
Local government reorganisation	4
Far North District Council	4
A Better Hawke's Bay Trust	4
Wairarapa District Councils	5
Greater Wellington Regional Council	5
Representation reviews	5
Contact details	7

Local Government Commission

Local government reorganisation

In December 2012 the Local Government Act 2002 Amendment Act 2012 introduced a new process for the initiation and consideration of proposals for local government reorganisation. To date the Commission has received four applications under the new legislation. These are discussed below.

Far North District Council

On 18 December 2012 the Commission received a reorganisation application from the Far North District Council for that council to become a unitary authority. By becoming so it would assume the powers, responsibilities and functions currently held by the Northland Regional Council in respect of the Far North District.

On 23 January the Commission decided that the application affected Kaipara District and Whangarei District as well as Far North District, i.e. the whole of the Northland Region.

On 15 March 2013 the Commission decided that the application met the requirements of schedule 3 of the Local Government Act 2002 and agreed to publicly notify it and invite alternative applications. By the 15 April 2013 deadline for alternative applications, 41 alternatives had been received.

The next steps were for the Commission to identify the "reasonably practicable options" and the "preferred option".

A Better Hawke's Bay Trust

A group called "A Better Hawke's Bay Trust" lodged an application on 7 February 2013 for a single unitary authority for the Hawke's Bay Region. The unitary authority would assume the powers, responsibilities and functions of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council, Wairoa District Council, Hastings District Council, Napier City Council and Central Hawke's Bay District Council.

On 15 March 2013 the Commission decided that the application met the requirements of schedule 3 of the Local Government Act 2002 and agreed to publicly notify it and invite alternative applications. By the 3 May 2013 deadline for alternative applications, 19 alternatives had been received.

The next steps were for the Commission to identify the "reasonably practicable options" and the "preferred option".

5 G.9

Local Government Commission

Wairarapa District Councils

An application was lodged by the Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa district councils on 22 May 2103. This application was for the three councils to form a unitary authority separate from the Wellington Region. The unitary authority would assume the powers, responsibilities and functions of the three district councils and those of the Greater Wellington Regional Council relating to the Wairarapa.

Greater Wellington Regional Council

The Greater Wellington Regional Council lodged an application on 21 June 2013. The application proposed a single unitary authority for the Wellington Region. The unitary authority would assume the powers, responsibilities and functions of the regional councils and the eight territorial authorities wholly in the region.

As with the Wairarapa district councils' application, this application also proposed a boundary alteration for a small part of Tararua District, currently in the Wellington Region to be transferred to the Manawatu-Wanganui Region.

As at 30 June 2013 the Commission had not decided whether to assess the two lastmentioned applications.¹

Representation reviews

The Commission was required to consider 25 representation reviews because appeals or objections were lodged against the local authorities' decisions or solely because, in four cases, regional councils proposed representation arrangements did not comply with the +/-10% requirement. Of the 25 reviews 16 were from territorial authorities and 9 were from regional councils.

¹ On 4 July 2014 the Commission decided that the applications lodged by the Wairarapa district councils and the Greater Wellington Regional Council met the requirements of Schedule 3 of the Local Government Act 2002 and agreed to assess them and invite alternative applications.

Local Government Commission

The reviews dealt with relating to appeals or objections were in respect of the following local authorities –

- Central Otago District Council
- · Gisborne District Council
- Hastings District Council
- Hauraki District Council
- Horowhenua District Council
- Hutt City Council
- Kaipara District Council
- Matamata-Piako District Council
- Napier City Council
- Northland Regional Council
- Palmerston North City Council
- Porirua City Council
- Southland District Council
- Tasman District Council
- Timaru District Council
- Waikato District Council
- Wellington City Council
- Wellington Regional Council
- Western Bay of Plenty District Council.

The regional council reviews dealt with solely because representation arrangements did not comply with the +/-10% rule were –

- Bay of Plenty Regional Council
- Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council
- Otago Regional Council
- Taranaki Regional Council.

7 G.9

Local Government Commission

Contact details

Local Government Commission

Street address: Level 9, 22 The Terrace, Wellington 6001

Postal address: PO Box 5362, Wellington 6040

Telephone number: 64 4 494 0552

Email address: info@lgc.govt.nz

Website: lgc.govt.nz

Chief Executive Officer

Donald Riezebos

