

Report of the proceedings and operations of the **Local Government Commission Mana Kāwanatanga ā Rohe**

For the year ended 30 June 2012

Presented to the House of Representatives pursuant to clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Local Government Commission

Minister of Local Government

Parliament Buildings

Wellington

Minister

We forward, in terms of clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002, the report of the Local Government Commission to 30 June 2012.

Yours sincerely

The Local Government Commission

Basil Morrison CNZM Chair

Anne Carter Commissioner
Grant Kirby ONZM Commissioner

3 G.9

Local Government Commission

Contents

	Page
Reorganisation proposals	4
Proposed union of Nelson City and Tasman District	4
Proposed boundary alteration between Manawatu District and Palmerton North City	4
Boundary alteration between Waikato District and Hamilton City	5
Auckland governance arrangements	5
Contact details	6

Local Government Commission

Reorganisation proposals

Proposed union of Nelson City and Tasman District

On 16 June 2011 the Commission released a draft reorganisation scheme for the union of Nelson City and Tasman District. This followed the receipt of an elector-initiated petition for the union of the two areas and the calling of public submissions on that proposal.

The Commission then called for submissions on the draft reorganisation scheme by 19 August 2011. Written submissions were received from 402 persons and organisations. A total of 107 submitters appeared before the Commission at hearings held in Nelson and Motueka on 28 to 30 September, and in Murchison and Takaka on 11 and 12 October 2011.

Following the consideration of submissions on the draft reorganisation scheme and the undertaking of further enquiries, the Commission decided to issue a final reorganisation scheme for the union of Nelson City and Tasman District. Although based on the draft scheme it contained a number of modifications.

As required by clause 52 of Schedule 3 of the Local Government Act 2002 polls were held on 21 April on the final reorganisation scheme. The results of the polls were as follows –

Poll in Nelson City

Votes cast for the proposal	10,536
Votes cast against the proposal	7,984

Poll in Tasman District

Votes cast for the proposal	5,802
Votes cast against the proposal	16,873

As the majority of electors in Tasman District voting in the poll voted against the scheme, the scheme did not proceed.

Proposed boundary alteration between Manawatu District and Palmerton North City

In May 2011 the Manawatu District Council initiated a reorganisation proposal providing for the transfer of several areas from Manawatu District to Palmerston North City. The two councils agreed that the proposal should be dealt with by a joint committee of the two councils and they established the Joint Boundary Committee to do this. In July 2011, as required by the Local Government Act 2002 (LGA), the joint committee issued a draft reorganisation scheme to give effect to the proposal.

5 G.9

Local Government Commission

After considering submissions on the draft scheme the joint committee decided, in November 2011, to adopt the draft scheme with some amendments.

Twenty one appeals against the decision were received and referred to the Commission for consideration. Forty eight parties also submitted notices that they wished to appear and be heard at any hearing convened by the Commission. These parties were all submitters on the draft reorganisation scheme.

The Commission held a hearing of appellants and other parties in Feilding on 1 and 2 March 2012.

Following this hearing and after further inquiries the Commission decided that the draft reorganisation scheme should become a reorganisation scheme, subject to a small variation relating to building consents.

Boundary alteration between Waikato District and Hamilton City

On 4 April 2012 the Commission issued a determination under section 26 of the Local Government Act 2012 amending a reorganisation scheme previously issued by a joint committee of the Hamilton City Council and the Waikato District Council for the transfer of several areas from Waikato District to Hamilton City. The Commission's determination redefined the area to be transferred and made additional provision for the application of Waikato District bylaws to those areas.

Auckland governance arrangements

The Commission issued a notice under section 34(8) of the Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 making a minor adjustment to boundary between the Franklin Ward and Franklin Local Board area, and the Howick Ward and the Howick Local Board area.

G.9 6

Local Government Commission

Contact details

Local Government Commission

Street address: Level 5, 46 Waring Taylor Street, Wellington 6001

Postal address: PO Box 5362, Wellington 6040

Telephone number: 64 4 494 0552 Email address: info@lgc.govt.nz

Website: lgc.govt.nz

Chief Executive Officer

Donald Riezebos

