

Report of the proceedings and operations of the

Local Government Commission Mana Kāwanatanga ā Rohe

For the year ended 30 June 2011

Presented to the House of Representatives pursuant to clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Local Government Commission

Minister of Local Government

Parliament Buildings

Wellington

Minister

We forward, in terms of clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002, the report of the Local Government Commission to 30 June 2011.

Yours sincerely

The Local Government Commission

Sue Piper Chair

Gwen Bull CNZM, JP Commissioner
Grant Kirby ONZM Commissioner

3 G.9

Local Government Commission

Contents

	Page
Auckland governance arrangements	4
Reorganisation proposals	4
Proposed union of Nelson City and Tasman District	4
Proposed boundary alteration between Western Bay of Plenty District and Hauraki District	5
Proposed boundary alteration between Whakatane District and Kawerau District	5
Contact details	6

Local Government Commission

Auckland governance arrangements

The Commission issued two notices under sections 33(6) and 34(8) of the Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 making minor adjustments to boundaries as follows:

- the transfer of an area from Hauraki District to Waikato District
- the transfer of an area from Auckland to the Waikato Region and the Waikato District
- the transfer of an area from the Waikato Region and the Waikato District to Auckland

On 30 June 2011 the Commission issued the Local Government (Auckland Boundaries) Determination Amendment 2011 to make further transitional provision for rating in those areas of the former Franklin District included in Hauraki District and Waikato District as a consequence of the constitution of the Auckland Council in 2010.

Reorganisation proposals

Proposed union of Nelson City and Tasman District

On 31 March 2010 the Commission had received a petition seeking the union of Nelson City and Tasman District. The electoral officer for Tasman District advised that the petition did not contain the required number of signatures of Tasman District electors for the petition to be valid (i.e. at least 10% of electors). Additional Tasman District electors subsequently signed the petition which was lodged with the Commission a second time, on 6 July 2010. On 19 July 2010 the electoral officer confirmed that the number signatories exceeded the threshold to initiate a reorganisation proposal.

On 31 August 2010, the Commission, under clause 36 of Schedule 3 of the LGA, appointed Aldo Miccio as 'representative of electors' in relation to the proposal.

The proposal was publicly notified on 9 September 2010 and submissions were called for by 8 November 2010. A total of 451 submissions were received by the closing date. Hearings for those submitters wishing to speak to their submissions were held at Murchison, Nelson, Richmond, Motueka and Takaka on 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18 December 2010.

5 G.9

Local Government Commission

Following consideration of the submissions received and matters raised at the hearings, the Commission decided further information was required and undertook some further consultation and inquiries. Following the completion of the further consultation and inquiries, the Commission decided to prepare a draft reorganisation scheme for the union of Nelson City and Tasman District and this was issued on 16 June 2011. Submissions on the draft scheme were called for by 19 August 2011.

Proposed boundary alteration between Western Bay of Plenty District and Hauraki District

On 28 May 2010 the Commission publicly notified a proposal for the transfer of the Waihi Beach Ward from the Western Bay of Plenty District to the Hauraki District and called for submissions by 27 July 2010. A total of 130 submissions were received by the closing date.

The Commission held a hearing of submitters at Bowentown on 1 and 2 September 2010.

Following the meeting and consideration of submissions and after further inquiries the Commission decided not to proceed with the proposal.

Proposed boundary alteration between Whakatane District and Kawerau District

A petition seeking the transfer of the Rangitaiki Ward from Whakatane District to Kawerau District was lodged with the Whakatane District Council and the Kawerau District Council on 20 July 2010. On 6 September 2010 the Commission received advice that the Whakatane District Council and the Kawerau District Council had each resolved to refer the proposal to the Commission for consideration.

On 21 September 2010 the Commission agreed, under clause 36 of Schedule 3 of the LGA, to appoint Bill Hutchinson as representative of electors in relation to the proposal. The Commission publicly notified the proposal on 20 October 2010 and called for submissions by 20 December 2010. A total of 574 submissions were received by the closing date with a further 39 late submissions subsequently received and considered.

On 3 March 2011 the Commission met with the representative of electors, the Whakatane District Council, the Kawerau District Council and the Rangitaiki Community Board in Whakatane. A further meeting was held on 5 and 6 April at which the Commission met with 30 other submitters.

Following these meetings and after further inquiries the Commission decided not to proceed with the proposal.

G.9 6

Local Government Commission

Contact details

Local Government Commission

Street address: Level 5, 46 Waring Taylor Street, Wellington 6001

Postal address: PO Box 5362, Wellington 6040

Telephone number: 64 4 494 0552 Email address: info@lgc.govt.nz

Website: lgc.govt.nz

Chief Executive Officer

Donald Riezebos

