About Us

The Local Government Commission is an independent statutory body established under the Local Government Act 2002. The Commission has three members who are appointed by the Minister of Local Government. Its main task is to make decisions on the structure of local government.

The Commission's Functions

  • To report on, and make recommendations to the Minister of Local Government on matters relating to local government. This may be done on the Commission's own initiative or at the request of the Minister.
  • To consider proposals for the constitution or abolition of territorial districts or regions, and proposals for the establishment of unitary authorities.
  • To consider appeals and counter-objections relating to a local authority's proposals for ward or constituency boundaries, and the number of its members following a representation review.
  • To consider issues relating to the constitution of communities.