Local Government Commission Home. Auckland Council Go to the contents of this page.Go to main navigation.Links to other pages in this section.Go to links for help with this site.
Home | News | Reorganisation | Proposals | Representation Reviews | Auckland Governance | Licensing Trust Districts | Guidelines | About Us | Resources

Auckland Council

In 2010 the Local Government Commission determined the wards, local boards and boundaries for the Auckland Council, along with consequential transition issues.

Determinations on Auckland wards, local boards and boundaries

Note: Large files *These documents are in Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. You need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer. You can download a free version from the Adobe site).
    (Volume 2 includes low resolution versions of the maps reproduced in higher resolution below).

Maps of wards, local boards and boundaries of Auckland and affected Waikato local authorities

    Note: More detailed interactive maps of these boundaries are available on the Auckland Council's interactive maps website. See maps and starting instructions.
  • Auckland (LGC-Ak-R1) (.pdf) 1.2mb*
    (NB: This map shows the seaward boundaries for Auckland. For ease of reference these boundaries are not shown on individual ward and local board maps)


The Local Government (Tamaki Makaurau Reorganisation) Act 2009 established a single authority for the Auckland Region - the Auckland Council - elected in October 2010. The Auckland Council took over from the former local authorities in the Auckland Region.

The Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 set out details on the structure, functions, duties and powers of the Auckland Council. It also required the Local Government Commission to determine the representation arrangements for the council and local boards. These boards share decision-making with the Auckland Council.

Some of the things the Act provided for were -
  • the Auckland Council to include a mayor and 20 members elected from wards
  • single member wards for the rural area of Rodney District and the area of Franklin District remaining in Auckland
  • between 20 and 30 local boards but with scope for the Local Government Commission to go outside this range
  • local boards to have between 4 and 9 members
  • Great Barrier and Waiheke to each have a local board.

The Act required the Local Government Commission to determine -
  • the boundaries of Auckland
  • the number, boundaries and names of wards for electing the 20 members on the Auckland Council
  • the number, boundaries and names of the local board areas
  • the number of members on the local boards and whether any of those members will be elected from subdivisions of local board areas.

Further resources -
  | Search | Site Map | Help | About this Site | Contact Us | Feedback | newzealand.govt.nz |