

Report of the proceedings and operations of the

Local Government Commission Mana Kāwanatanga ā Rohe

For the year ended 30 June 2010

Presented to the House of Representatives pursuant to clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Local Government Commission

Minister of Local Government

Parliament Buildings

Wellington

Minister

We forward, in terms of clause 31 of Schedule 4 of the Local Government Act 2002, the report of the Local Government Commission to 30 June 2010.

Yours sincerely

The Local Government Commission

Sue Piper Chair

Gwen Bull CNZM, JP Commissioner
Grant Kirby ONZM Commissioner

3 G.9

Local Government Commission

Contents

	Page
Auckland governance arrangements	4
Reorganisation proposals	4
Proposed union of Nelson City and Tasman District	4
Proposed boundary alteration between Western Bay of Plenty District and Hauraki District	5
Proposed transfer of islands from Auckland City to Thames-Coromandel District	5
Representation reviews	5
Contact details	6

Local Government Commission

Auckland governance arrangements

The Local Government (Tamaki Makaurau Reorganisation) Act 2009 establishes the Auckland Council as the single local authority for the Auckland Region. A second act, the Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009, required the Commission to determine –

- the number of wards for electing 20 councillors to the Auckland Council and the exact boundaries and names for those wards
- the number of local boards (between 20 and 30 unless on specific grounds the Commission determines otherwise) that will share decision-making with the Auckland Council, the need for subdivisions of these areas for electoral purposes, and the exact boundaries, names and number of members for each of those boards and subdivisions
- the exact location of the northern and southern boundaries for the area of the Auckland Council, and arrangements for the area of the Franklin District that will not be within Auckland.

The Commission decided to issue proposals for these matters. To assist it to prepare these proposals, the Commission undertook an initial information gathering phase in which it talked with the councils and community boards in the region and with a number of other regional interest groups, and invited initial written views. On 20 November 2009 the Commission issued its proposals for the boundaries of Auckland and its wards and local boards. In response to those proposals 736 submissions were received.

After considering those submissions and carrying out further investigations and inquiries the Commission issued, on 11 March 2010, two determinations –

- the Local Government (Auckland Wards and Local Boards) Determination 2010
- the Local Government (Auckland Boundaries) Determination 2010.

Reorganisation proposals

Proposed union of Nelson City and Tasman District

On 31 March 2010 the Commission received a petition seeking the union of Nelson City and Tasman District. On 3 May 2010 the electoral officer for Nelson City and Tasman District advised that while the petition contained the required number of signatures of Nelson City electors (i.e. at least 10% of electors) it did not contain the required number of signatures of Tasman District electors.

5 G.9

Local Government Commission

Proposed boundary alteration between Western Bay of Plenty District and Hauraki District

On 21 December 2009 a petition seeking the transfer of the Waihi Beach Ward from the Western Bay of Plenty District to the Hauraki District (with consequent changes to the boundary between the bay of Plenty Region and the Waikato Region) was lodged with the affected local authorities.

The councils did not reach agreement on how to deal with the proposal and on 18 February 2010, they referred it to the Commission for consideration in accordance with clause 10(3) of Schedule 3 of the Local Government Act 2002.

On 4 May 2010 the Commission appointed Brian Heppenstall as representative of electors in relation to the proposal.

The Commission publicly notified the proposal on 28 May 2010 and called for submissions by 27 July 2010.

Proposed transfer of islands from Auckland City to Thames-Coromandel District

On 16 July 2009 the Commission met with the proposer, affected local authorities and organisations representing particular areas and interests.

Following the meeting and after further inquiries the Commission decided not to proceed with the proposal.

Representation reviews

The Commission was required to consider 10 representation reviews because appeals or objections were lodged against the local authorities' decisions. All of the 10 reviews related to territorial authorities.

The reviews dealt with were from -

- Christchurch City Council
- Dunedin City Council
- Far North District Council
- Invercargill City Council
- Kapiti Coast District Council
- Marlborough District Council
- Rotorua District Council
- Ruapehu District Council
- Tauranga District Council
- Waimakariri District Council.

G.9 6

Local Government Commission

Contact details

Local Government Commission

Street address: Level 5, 46 Waring Taylor Street, Wellington 6001

Postal address: PO Box 5362, Wellington 6040

Telephone number: 64 4 494 0552 Email address: info@lgc.govt.nz

Website: lgc.govt.nz

Chief Executive Officer

Donald Riezebos

